Dickinson Alumnus, December 1933

Selected Highlights from this Issue: 
  • The College celebrated the sesquicentennial over three days with a number of events, such as a play ("The Pagent of Dickinson") and a special convocation. The Alumnus published the remarks of those who spoke at convocation, including President Morgan, Professor John Baillie, and Princeton University President Harold W. Dodds. 
  • Nine portraits of distinguished Dickinsonians were presented to the College at the sesquicentennial dinner, including Benjamin Rush, Matthew Brown, William Henry Denny, William Henry Allen, Robert Alexander Lamberton, Richard Alexander Fullerton Penrose, John Hays, Edward William Biddle, and John Frederick Mohler. Rutgers University President Robert C. Clothier delivered an address at the event. 
  • President James Henry Morgan (class of 1878)  named Professor Ernest Vuilleumier acting Dean of the College and Professor Lewis G. Rohrbaugh (class of 1907) as Dean of the Freshman Class. 
  • Omicron Delta Kappa announced their plans to publish a new edition of the college song book.