Dickinson Alumnus, May 1954

Selected Highlights from this Issue: 
  • Plans were made for the first outdoor Commencement, which would be held on the Benjamin Rush Campus with the Baird Biology Building in the background.
  • Marian Anderson, a famous African-American contralto, received an honorary degree during a special convocation.
  • Dr. Lewis H. Rohrbaugh (class of 1930) was appointed as Provost of the University of Arkansas.
  • Andy Kerr (class of 1900), "one of America's greatest football coaches," received the Hamilton Rotary Club's"Rose for the Living" award in Hamilton, New York.
  • Theodore F. Bowes (class of 1927) was appointed United States Attorney for the Northern District of New York.
  • The prayer room located in Old West became the John Price Durbin Oratory.
  • John B. Fowler Jr. (class of 1934) was elected as President of the Brown-Allen Chemicals company.
  • Physicist Kart T. Compton received the annual Joseph Priestley Award.
Download Issue: