Corson, Fred Pierce

32nd College Training Detachment faculty, 1944

Several faculty from the 32nd College Training Detachment with Dickinson College President Fred P. Corson (far left) in 1944.

32nd College Training Detachment Officers, 1944

Officers from the 32nd College Training detachment with Dickinson College President Fred Corson in 1944.

Colonel John Hartigan, Lt. Gustaf Anderson, Lt. Eldridge, Lt. Gorson, Lt. Henry E. Smith, and President Corson (second from left).

Bosler Hall renovations, groundbreaking ceremony, 1940

View of President Fred P. Corson (on left, Class of 1917), Pennsylvania Governor Arthur H. James (with shovel), and Judge Foster [Heller?] at the groundbreaking ceremony for the Bosler Hall renovations in April 1940.

Commencement, c.1940

View of an event during Commencement weekend at Dickinson around 1940. President Fred Pierce Corson (Class of 1917) is standing second from left.

The handwritten note on the reverse side reads: "D'son graduation - Uncle Mac [McElfish] - upper left"

Commencement, 1941

Robert F. Rich '07 (left) accepts an honorary degree from President Fred Corson '17 during Commencement on June 9, 1941.

Fred Pierce Corson, 1934

Fred Pierce Corson, a member of the Class of 1917, is elected President of Dickinson College in 1934.

Fred Pierce Corson, c.1935

View as President Fred Pierce Corson (left) stands beside trustee James Henry Morgan (center) and President of the Board of Trustees, Boyd Lee Spahr (right).

Corson is Class of 1917, Morgan is Class of 1878, and Spahr is Class of 1900.

Fred Pierce Corson, 1967

Fred Pierce Corson (left) is a member of the Class of 1917 and served as College President from 1934 to 1944. Corson chose to retire to take up the appointment as Bishop of the United Methodist Church's Philadelphia area until he retired permanently in 1968.

Edgar Rohrer Heckman, 1935

View of trustee Edgar Rohrer Heckman (second row, far right), a member of the Class of 1897, in academic regalia with members of the Board of Trustees and other college administrators in 1935.

Boyd Lee Spahr (Class of 1900), Gilbert Malcolm (Class of 1915), and William Wilcox Edel (Class...

Zatae Longsdorff and President Corson, 1937

View of Zatae Longsdorff Straw (Class of 1887) with President Corson (Class of 1917) and Dean of Women Josephine Meredith (Class of 1901) at Commencement in 1937. 

Left to Right: Dr. Straw ; President Corson ; Dean Meredith

Julia Morgan at Commencement, 1942

Dr. Julia Morgan (Class of 1911) receives an honorary degree at Commencement on June 1, 1942. 

Left to Right: President Fred Pierce Corson (Class of 1917) ; Dr. Julia Morgan ; [unknown]

President Corson and Honorary Degree recipients at Commencement, 1934

President Fred Pierce Corson '17 (far left) stands with honorary degree recipients and faculty in front of the Alumni Gym during Commencement on June 11, 1934. Former President James Henry Morgan, a member of the Board of Trustees and the Class of 1878, stands on the far right.

President Corson with Honorary degree recipients, 1941

President Fred Corson '17 (far left) stands with Honorary degree recipients, including Robert F. Rich '07 (third from left) and Robert H. Montgomery (fourth from left), during Commencement on June 9, 1941.

Subscribe to Corson, Fred Pierce